Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

heydonz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2008
Hi All,
As a graphic designer, I've been interested in photography for years. I've finally gotten more serious about it as of late. While out for a visit to my hometown on the east end of Long Island, I captured some interesting beach scenes with my olympus digital camera. After I have gifted a few, I have been approached by friends of friends to purchase copies of those and asking if I have others.

My questions...

What do I charge for something like that?
The few that I gave as gifts were 5" x 7" black & whites that I put in some nice contemporary black frames, matted that I had purchased in Kohl's! I'd like to frame up some of the others in 8 x 10's or larger.

Second question...
I think its time that I purchase a digital SLR but really have no idea where to begin. With my graphic design I know I'll get alot of use out of it but I also don't want to have to read a manual for two weeks to learn how to use it! Budget...starting out I'd have to stay well under $1000 bucks.

Can I make a living at this??? My creative juices are flowing!

Thanks so much for your advice in advance. Any other tidbits are greatly appreciated! :)

Donz

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
Hi All,
As a graphic designer, I've been interested in photography for years. I've finally gotten more serious about it as of late. While out for a visit to my hometown on the east end of Long Island, I captured some interesting beach scenes with my olympus digital camera. After I have gifted a few, I have been approached by friends of friends to purchase copies of those and asking if I have others.

My questions...