Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

je1ani

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 19, 2007
I'm sorry but I know nothing about cameras or iso or dslr or any of what you talking about but I am trying to get into taking high quality photographs. My question is what is the best camera for under $1000? Also does more megapixel = a better camera? what do the different lenses do? Sorry i'm a noob :p

Digital Skunk

macrumors G3
Dec 23, 2006
In my imagination
I don't like it when someone comes into other people's threads and tell them to look up the forums next time they post because the topic has been talked about to death, but this is one of those moments.

Search the forum, and all your questions will be answered.

Jan 30, 2006
OK, I guess I have the time to answer your questions.:)

First recommendation: before spending so much money in a camera get to know what a dSLR is, and how they work. Just reading a little theory will help you, because maybe you don't really want a dSLR and you may only want to have a nice P&S camera.

For example, ISO is the sensitivity, the higher it is the more light the sensor would "capture", but you'll also notice an increase in "noise". You may also want to read about the meaning of aperture, shutter speed, focal length, depth of field, etc. This is a link you may want to visit.

Megapixels does not mean you have a better camera, you might have a 12MP camera, but if the sensor size is small they won't help you much. Basically one of the advantages of dSLR are the image sensors, which are MUCH bigger than the normal P&S sensors.
Also, you may not need more than 6MP. You have to take into account if you would ever print large photos.