Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cherrycat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 20, 2018
Hello!

I am an illustrator working mainly in Photoshop, but I also use Illustrator and InDesign for some of my work. I do a lot of traditional work too, so I'm always scanning at very high resolution. When I'm working I have Photoshop running working with pretty large files (I do most of my work for print), ten or more internet tabs open, sometimes InDesign running at the same time and quite a few images and folders open too.

I'm slowly getting into video editing as well (using Photoshop and Premiere Pro) and once I get the iMac I will start using iMovie and then quite possibly transition to Final Cut Pro after some time. I will most probably not edit 4k footage as I don't have a camera which supports 4k and I'm not planning to buy a new one anytime soon.

I'm looking into getting an iMac in the near future and I am a bit confused and overwhelmed. Right now I'm using a Windows pc, that's what I've been using all my life, but I've had other Apple products for quite a few years now (iPhone, iPad..) and I absolutely love them so I really want to switch to an iMac as well for quite a few reasons.

Right now I'm looking at the 27" 2017 iMac but I'm confused as I'm not sure which one would be most suitable for me and my work. I want something to help me do my work efficiently, but I don't want to spend money on a maxed out iMac just because.