Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Helpmechoose

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 7, 2021
Hello,

To begin, i am not a pro, i dont do any type of « pro » work, i just want a device to browse internet, watch moovies, travel with, do some light Microsoft office work , i dont know what to choose between the ipad pro 12.9 m1 and the macbook pro 14 m1, the ipad seems too big , and the 11 version doesn’t have the mini LED screen, and there is Ipados, on the other hand there is the macbook with the perfect screen , the nice finish, the good batterie life everything is perfect abt it, BUT the price, i can afford it but , buying that type of machine for 2000$ just to do day to day activities ?? Is it justifiable ? Is there people here that doesn’t have any Pro activity that own a macbook ?

Infinitewisdom

macrumors 6502a
Sep 23, 2012
Hello,

To begin, i am not a pro, i dont do any type of « pro » work, i just want a device to browse internet, watch moovies, travel with, do some light Microsoft office work , i dont know what to choose between the ipad pro 12.9 m1 and the macbook pro 14 m1, the ipad seems too big , and the 11 version doesn’t have the mini LED screen, and there is Ipados, on the other hand there is the macbook with the perfect screen , the nice finish, the good batterie life everything is perfect abt it, BUT the price, i can afford it but , buying that type of machine for 2000$ just to do day to day activities ?? Is it justifiable ? Is there people here that doesn’t have any Pro activity that own a macbook ?

For your needs, I don’t see why an iPad wouldn’t work. So long as you have another computer in the house somewhere, you should be fine.

Soccerrick10

macrumors member
Jan 28, 2019
To me, it all depends on your tie to Microsoft Office.

The iPad weaknesses are still lack of parity between Office Mac and iOS, weaker file system and features lacking in Safari.