Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

raptor96

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 5, 2006
RI
Hi all,

I'm new and it's my first post to both the DP forum and macrumors. That said I've been reading both for a while.

A little background:

I'm a student and I travel a lot and take pictures whenever I can in my spare time. I've been shooting digital for about 4-6 years. I have been shooting with a P&S Sony DSC-P10 5.0 MP camera. I want to upgrade because while I like the P&S simplicity I've gotten confident enough in my composition skills that I want to have more control. I've already invested in a Nikon 6006 SLR (because I'm taking Photo I next semester) with Speedlite and a good Nikon lens so I think I could go DSLR or a solid pro-sumer. I don't know that much about manual settings and such and hope to develop that knowledge in my photo class so I'd like a camera that gives me manual functionality (to grow on) without sacrificing ease of use (P&S). That said I'm not intimidated by 'complex' cameras either, I've shot with the D70 and D70s.

I've looked at the DSC-V3 (discontinued) and the DSC-H5 and H2. I'm looking at other cameras as well. Here's where you guys come in. I'd really like some advice as to what to look at in considering cameras (or models you guys/girls favor). The images I take generally are landscape or building photographs though I'm really enjoying knitting together panoramas (so locking exposure settings would be nice) and night photography (so long exposures would be nice). I am pricing around <$600 because that's what I have saved up. That said I don't care about the form factor though I looked at the V3 which I'm sad is discontinued because it was a small camera that could take larger lenses (with an adapter). Any suggestions?