Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nightsky

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 18, 2007
SA,Tx
Hello, Here is a list of comparably priced (SLR like) digital cameras I'm interested in:

Kodak p850
Lumix DMC FZ7
PowerShot IS S2
Cyber Shot H2

I have a Nikon N6006 35mm SLR but need to explore creative experiments with digital camera for a portfolio. I am new to digital photography and printing production using digital and computer software tools. I plenty of manual creative and technical production experience but changed fields before the PC and Apple explosion. Now I want to return photography and print production. I'm partial to DMC FZ7 but LCD resolution and Zoom lens mechanism r of concern according to some reviews, although specs reveal higher over all resolution than that of kodak, except for the LCD. Kodak p850 seems very competitive love the flash hot shoe. Both FZ7 & P850 taut outstanding lens quality. Have looked at gallery photos but its hard to decide, photo quality seems great on both and a good photographer can make most cameras look great. FYI have to get my portfolio done rather quickly.
Thanks for your help.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
Before everyone rushes in here and recommends the Canon option, along with other Canon cameras not on the list, I'd like to put in a recommendation for the H2. ;)

I don't know much about the Kodak, and all I know about Panasonic is that their sensor is noisier than others, although there are a few great things about some of the Panasonic line that makes them an option for me in the future. The FZ7 is a camera that owners seem very happy with, which pretty much says it all. :)

The Canon S2 IS is a nice camera, but I didn't like the controls. The IS is great though. I'm sure someone else will chime in with more details on the Canon.

nightsky

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 18, 2007
SA,Tx