Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GoGoSamGo

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 28, 2007
So I'm looking around to try and find the first lens to purchase for my Nikon D40. Even though this camera is still on it's way and will be here by the end of this week, I want to have a goal of having another lens aside from the kit one. I've narrowed it down to 3 choices.

Nikon 55-200 mm vr $249.99

Nikon 70-300 mm vr $529.99

Nikon 18-200 mm vr $749.99

I've read many reviews and I know that the 18-200 has a lot of good things said about it, but the only thing is that, I'm a college student (which means very low on $ most of the times). If I want to get the 55-200 I could probably get that one by this month. If I wanted to get the 70-300 (while all are close, I'm leaning towards this one the most) in the next 2-3 months. As for the 18-200 that would be anywhere between a 5-6 month month wait. I'm trying to be patient and wanting to get the best lens I can get, that's why I'm not quick to jump the gun and just go after the 55-200 just because I could have it now. So any suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated

GoGoSamGo

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 28, 2007
Get the one you want most.

Well I like all three, but like I said I'm slightly leaning towards the 70-300. The only reason I ask for opinions though is due to the fact of not have exactly a lot of money to be gambling around :-/. I really don't know if the 70-300 is worth more than 2x the amount of the 55-200, and then the 18-200 being 3x more than it. Really I just want to know what's the best way to invest my money on a lens that will last me at least a year until I might then possibly consider upgrading again. After the lens I want to get some filters too. Funny signature by the way, I'm really not a Kobe fan, T-mac is the man though :).

Spectrum

macrumors 68000
Mar 23, 2005
Never quite sure