Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jiotheturk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 9, 2024
Hello,

I will use my system for 4k video editing, some photo editing, creating content for social media and that is all. Video editing is not at a very professional level, I will be using Final Cut Pro as video editing software (I am still learning Da Vinci Resolve, and not so good at it) So this usage is a hobby at the moment but I am considering an opportunity to do it as my secondary income source in the future (after 1-2 years)

Therefore, choosing a device with future-proof features is very important, especially if you invest so much money in it.

So with that said, I need your advice and thoughts on choosing between two options;

Option 1 Mini Mac M2 Pro:

Hardware

• Apple M2 Pro with 10‑core CPU, 16-core GPU, 16‑core Neural Engine
  • 32GB unified memory
  • 512GB SSD storage
  • Gigabit Ethernet
  • Four Thunderbolt 4 ports, HDMI port, two USB‑A ports, headphone jack
  • Accessory Kit
Accompanied with ASUS ProArt Display 32” 4K HDR Monitor (PA329CV)

Also with Magic Mouse and Magic Keyboard

Option 2 iMac M3:

Hardware

• Apple M3 chip with 8‑core CPU with 4 performance cores and 4 efficiency cores, 10‑core GPU and 16‑core Neural Engine
  • 512GB SSD storage
  • 24GB unified memory
  • Two Thunderbolt / USB 4 ports
  • Two USB 3 ports
  • Gigabit Ethernet
  • Magic Mouse
  • Magic Keyboard with Touch ID and Numeric Keypad - US English
  • Accessory Kit

My budget at the moment allows me these two options so adding Studio Display to option 1 is not an option for now.

Do you think option 2 with those features is enough to cover my needs and have somewhat future-proof features that give the full Apple Mac experience with that great display (although it is 24" and Asus is 32")?

I appreciate your feedback and suggestions already.

Thank you very much

Jio

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006