Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

danielleo369

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 5, 2022
I'm having a hard time choosing the M1 MacBook Air with 16GB RAM 512GB SSD or M2 MacBook Air with 8GB RAM 512GB SSD. I live in a country where any Macs beyond the base RAM is a custom order and they basically charge more if I want to go with that. Hence, the two laptops cost exactly the same.

I'm a writer and journalist, working with 50+ chrome tabs on a daily. I also open Microsoft Office, WhatsApp, Skype, and do occasional iMovie/Garageband/Photoshopping. Currently with my 2017 13" MacBook Pro, I easily touch 7.00/8.00GB memory and uses over 4GB of swap, with memory pressure sometimes going above green to yellow.

I don't care about the design, and I just want a reliable machine that works well in clamshell mode with a 4K display (since this is how I'll use it most of the time) for the next 5 years, minimum. FYI I can't get a mac mini because my area is prone to blackouts, and sometimes I take my work to cafés ✌🏻.

Concern with M2 MBA 8/512: Not enough ram, overheats in clamshell mode.
Concern with M1 MBA 16/512: Overpriced, 2 y.o processor, lack of ports, regret not buying the new one for the same price.

Let me know your thoughts! I appreciate any help and opinion ❤️

albozr

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2022
I'm having a hard time choosing the M1 MacBook Air with 16GB RAM 512GB SSD or M2 MacBook Air with 8GB RAM 512GB SSD. I live in a country where any Macs beyond the base RAM is a custom order and they basically charge more if I want to go with that. Hence, the two laptops cost exactly the same.