Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bloogersnigen

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 15, 2005
Wherever the water flows
I am new to photography and just got a Nikon D70 and don't have a lens. I got this camera primarily for a trip I am doing this summer. It is a 50 day canoe trip in northern canada. I will be taking pictures of vistas, sunsets, portraits around a fire, flowers, wildlife, and general happenings of the trip. I am looking for one lens to bring. Under $500, but I will use this for my photography future so I'm willing to invest. Something that is compact, hardy (I don't want a delicate lens), and able to cover what I want to take. Zoom or prime would be acceptable. Maybe a wide angle prime that I could crop later (Are there enough pixels on the D70 to do this?), or a standard 18-70 zoom?. If you would please give a suggestion and tell me why I would a appreciate it.

sonor

macrumors 6502
Jan 15, 2008
London, UK
Sigma 18-50 f2.8 Macro is very useful and a top quality lens.

Standard zoom range: 27-75mm equivalent on your D70 - moderate wide to moderate telephoto - vistas to portraits

Fast lens - constant 2.8

1:3 macro - 7.25 inches minimum focus distance

Very sharp - several tests rate it higher than Nikon's much more expensive 17-55/2.8, although it's not built quite so well

Probably around $400

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
The Sigma 18-55 f/2.8 is a great reccomendation, or perhaps an 18-200 VR, which isn't as fast and perhaps not as sharp, but very versatile as an only lens when you are trying to pack light.

SLC

PixelFactory

macrumors regular
Jun 6, 2003
Chicago
I have the Sigma 18-55 f2.8. It's a great lens. The build is very good.

Here are a few samples of photos i have taken with it.

2362638984_384d0ebb16.jpg

2361807383_74683cbed5.jpg

528076968_70eb729b82.jpg

528169589_ce35246c02.jpg

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006