Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AxelMonkey

macrumors regular
Original poster
IMG_0046.jpg

25434_1249685726764_1368106339_3059.jpg

169664641.jpg

I have many more, but I'm not going to drown you guys into C&C'ing my pics all at one time, so Ill do three every other day. Maybe give me some pointers, tips. Im wanting to go pro. Give as much C&C as possible.

flosseR

macrumors 6502a
Jan 1, 2009
the cold dark north
Ok I am not a pro but I will start with some things from MY point of view.

Photo 1: flash too harsh and you can't immediately see what it is, I thought you took a photo of worms until i looked closer and realized its a chain. The color is just too even. Maybe a large aperture on ONE element of the chain that is clearly defined?

Photo 2: It's a jeep in a shed converted to mono color. Nothing else. To make it interesting, change view point, maybe a bit lower and a different angle?

Photo 3: It's a shed. If that's the focus point, what makes it interesting or stand out? Remember, the photo ALWAYS needs to tell a story and this one doesn't. There are thousands of shed just like it, what makes this particular one stand out?

Just my 2 c. All three could be improved by just changing small things.

But then I am not a Pro so I can be wrong. :)

//F

firestarter

macrumors 603
Dec 31, 2002
Green and pleasant land
First one. I can see what you're trying to do, but I don't think it's a very strong image. For an image highlighting the geometric shapes of the chains I think I would:
  • Crop in a lot closer
  • Either make just one link in focus, or make the whole plane in focus - the fact that the top 1/2 of the frame is soft is distracting
  • Take more care with composition. I'm not sure the random spaces and bits of straw work.

Second one I think is the weakest of the three.