Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tonilef44

Cancelled
Original poster
Sep 16, 2020
Hi all,

I have recently been watching a few videos on Youtube where people upgrade 4,1 or 5,1 MacPro. I want to give it a go myself even though I am absolutely rubbish in IT. I am a Video Editor/ Motion Designer using Adobe softwares and in need of more power from my machine but can't spend £7k on a new iMAcPro for instance.

Here is the machine I am using:

• Model Name: Mac Pro (Early 2009)
  • Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
  • Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
  • Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
  • Number of Processors: 2
  • Total Number of Cores: 8
  • L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
  • L3 Cache (per Processor): 8 MB
  • Memory: 32 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
  • Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
  • SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
  • SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
  • Serial Number (system): CK0030MLE1C
  • Serial Number (processor tray): J5951006BBXZA
  • Hardware UUID: A038CD54-3345-5930-9438-1EB7AF64536B
  • HardDrive SSD: Samsung SSD 500 GB 860 EVO Sata III 64L V NAND
  • Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB

My aim is to flash it to 5,1 to then install 2 delidded 3.46ghz CPU, 128gb RAM, an AMD RX580 8GB GPU, and Mojave.

My questions are the following:

1. Can I flash the MacPro to a 5,1 even if I don't have the original Graphics Card GT120 ? I only have a ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB?
  2. Can I flash the MacPro to a 5,1 if I am already running High Sierra?
  3. If flashing the MacPro to 5,1, is there a risk of the machine crashing and therefore losing everything on the drive? Shall I make a back-up before?