Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tonyeck

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 3, 2004
Las Vegas, NV
Hey guys...

For the most part, I am fairly unknown on these boards but I try to participate in photography discussions when I have time, but due to travelling and moving around places I have not been as active as I would like! I enjoy the photographs I see on this section of the board and love witnessing the great talent evolve from a great diversity of people.

I am now studying in my final year degree (in graphic design) at University in the UK. My final project is fairly open based, and I have decided to be fairly experimental. Here is the brief I have wrote so far:

Events, such as September 11th 2001 and July 7th 2005 meant the world’s press was subjugated with one story. Communicating these stories with the world is about immediacy. Photographers need to act quickly, where it is their job to take action and failing to portray such events in an appropriate manner could provoke the wrong message. Thus, the chosen images captured must sum up the whole event: injured, lost, panic, heroism, kindness, desperation, etc. The question is then, what is the appropriate response from the photographer and how is that response fully portrayed through each photograph?

Diversity surrounds us; different cultures, different beliefs, different ideas everywhere. This distinctive structure brings forward the idea that various people would construe various meanings to a subject matter in many different, yet fascinating ways. How would someone in Asia respond to a theme as apposed to someone in North America using only photography, for example? If individuals were to capture moments, based on a single theme or event, from all around the world at the same time, what would their responses be?