Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

voshem

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 7, 2018
Hi! So I was foolish enough to buy an iPhone 7 plus off craigslist without examining it thoroughly enough to see that it had been jailbroken. Stupid, I know. Now, I want to restore the iPhone, but iTunes doesn't recognize or sync with the phone. I am at a loss as to what to do. I think the phone has some sort of android program on it now, I got a message saying something about MT65XX ? Do you have any advice?? The phone runs, but it's in super crappy shape, so keeping it this way is not an option :(

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
Hi! So I was foolish enough to buy an iPhone 7 plus off craigslist without examining it thoroughly enough to see that it had been jailbroken. Stupid, I know.
Not stupid. At least if you ask me. I've been jailbreaking since late 2012. Every iPhone I've ever owned has been jailbroken, including my current 6s+.

So no condemnation from me on purchasing a jailbroken iPhone.

Now, I want to restore the iPhone, but iTunes doesn't recognize or sync with the phone. I am at a loss as to what to do. I think the phone has some sort of android program on it now, I got a message saying something about MT65XX ? Do you have any advice?? The phone runs, but it's in super crappy shape, so keeping it this way is not an option :(

A couple of things to do first.

1. Get a computer capable of running the latest version of iTunes. You need to run the most current version, NOT the latest version that your computer can run.
2. Update iTunes to the current version.

For the restore, I am going to assume you want to wipe the phone and restore as new. We can try DFU Mode for that. DFU mode is a base level interaction between the device and iTunes. There's no GUI involved with the device itself.

So, here you go for that.

1. Open iTunes
2. Connect iPhone to computer.
3. Turn iPhone off.