Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

uplusd

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 8, 2008
Silicon Valley
Hi all,

Excuse my noobness but I'm new to digital photography. I've been been trying to get that "misty" effect when shooting waterfalls by using a long exposure time. However, when I try it out I end up with shots that are harshly overexposed. Here are a few examples:

overexposed_waterfall1.jpg

25mm, f/25, 1" s, iso 100

overexposed_waterfall2.jpg

18mm, f/18, 1"s, iso 100

Does anyone have any tips on how I can achieve the effect properly?

Thanks in advance.

HBOC

macrumors 68020
Oct 14, 2008
SLC
yes, as pointed out, a good tripod, a neutral density filter (I don't shoot mid day, rather early AM or evening), MLU (mirror lock up) and a cable release. A good lens and practice will yield good results. I shoot no higher than ISO 100 and shoot between f/8 and f/13, depending on what the conditions are.

Click on my FlickR to see extensive waterfalls that I have taken. Here is one that i just resized. Otherwise it is straight out of the camera. I am lazy and laying on the couch while typing this.

Attachments

• Summit Creek .jpg
    Summit Creek .jpg
    477.6 KB · Views: 94

uplusd

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 8, 2008
Silicon Valley
Thanks for the responses. I used a tripod for both those pictures. I'll try enabling mirror lock up and looking into neutral density filters.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Mirror lock-up isn't really necessary for long exposures, typically you're keeping the shutter open long enough that any mirror-induced vibration isn't going to show up in the image. f/25 is probably in diffraction territory for pretty-much any digital camera too, ND filters are a much better option.

Paul

HBOC

macrumors 68020
Oct 14, 2008
SLC