Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Selsk

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 18, 2017
Hello! I'm asking for a little help troubleshooting a Mac Pro build I am doing for a friend.

He wanted something to help him with rendering 3d stuff his macbook was lagging with. I am not an expert but I have built many PC's and tinkered with upgrading many macs over the years. I personally have a 2013 6 core.

He found a 5,1 12 core. I put 64gb of ram in it. We got a 1080 and a SSD for it as well. The initial install was a little time consuming. Once I upgraded to High sierra I got stuck in a boot loop. So I reinstalled regular Sierra and got it working. I had the 1080 installed as well as the original card. I eventually got high sierra installed and everything was running fine with the nvidia drivers. This was actually a few months ago! So.. I forget all the details that was involved with the build but all looked fine. Did some geekbench tests and was very proud.

Anyway, my friend has been super busy and did not come by to pick up his new machine. So it sat in my office for a few months like I said. He even forgot about the new computer he had waiting for him! Lately I have been messing around with mining some alt coins on my nMP. So I was like what the hell..... I wonder what the hash rate on the 1080 will be? Maybe I can install win10 in bootcamp and see how many FPS I get with PUBG. Lol. So last week I plug in his machine. Well, I type in his login info while I am running around my place, tidying up etc. A few min later I return to the machine and the monitor is off and there is a red light flashing in the case. I googled the red light of doom.