Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chris88

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 30, 2007
Hello I bought a Canon EOS 40D last week. I am kind of new to digital photography. I would like to learn how to use the camera other then just putting it on auto. What books and web sets would yall recommend.

Thanks

JNB

macrumors 604
http://www.dpnotes.com/canon/canon40d/tips.php
http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/contro...articleID=1846&productID=150&articleTypeID=46

And the user's manual, of course. While fairly lengthy, it gives a thorough explanation of every setting and feature. Take your camera, the manual, and walk through it, taking shots using each setting as described and you will see how it changes the final image.

Also, any basic book or site on photography will explain all the terms, common settings, etc., and describe what effect each has on the shot. Learn each mode or characteristic before you combine them all. Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, White Balance (and all other) settings all have significant effect. Work through them all patiently.

The beauty of digital is that you'll get instant feedback, with no wasted film!

Chris88

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 30, 2007
http://www.dpnotes.com/canon/canon40d/tips.php
http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/contro...articleID=1846&productID=150&articleTypeID=46

And the user's manual, of course. While fairly lengthy, it gives a thorough explanation of every setting and feature. Take your camera, the manual, and walk through it, taking shots using each setting as described and you will see how it changes the final image.