Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Marlon DLTH :)

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 4, 2020
This is my first time doing a concept. I made it using PowerPoint haha. This is how I thing floating windows could be on iPadOS
4F30C81E-1634-4C8D-BAA2-58D14863FA37.jpeg
F98A4016-91A7-495E-856A-68B7DD7BE6E9.jpeg
C72FBDC8-FA7A-44D9-9F70-C70DB668EABA.jpeg
0070F104-9572-4AC5-9838-C675D625E34F.jpeg
33CC51C8-1A94-467A-89C4-16A605E239A7.jpeg

Last edited:

Deliro

macrumors 65816
Sep 20, 2011
Over 3 years ago I was using floating windows on my jail broken iPad. obviously it can be done but at what resource and performance hit that Apple would be ok with?

Reactions: Marlon DLTH :)

Deliro

macrumors 65816
Sep 20, 2011
This would obviously be an iPad Pro only feature. The iPad Pro’s are capable of much greater multitasking.

There are also software development considerations. Apps would need to support this. If it’s done all OS side there would be some funky user experience issues. The SDK would need some major revamps. Not sure if that’s something Apple has the appetite for.

edit - with that said I’d love to see what the poster came up with become a reality.

hovscorpion12

macrumors 68030
Sep 12, 2011
USA
There are also software development considerations. Apps would need to support this. If it’s done all OS side there would be some funky user experience issues. The SDK would need some major revamps. Not sure if that’s something Apple has the appetite for.

edit - with that said I’d love to see what the poster came up with become a reality.

Apple will need to force developers Day 1. It’s been years and some developers are just now updating their apps to work with split-view/slid-over. MSFT took two years to implement split view. if is announced at WWDC, Apple must for all apps to work by iPadOS 14 launch.

muzzy996

macrumors 65816
Feb 16, 2018
Nice.