Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Patriks7

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 26, 2008
Vienna
Hey fellow Mac photographers ^_^
I am in need of some help. I am planning on getting a DSLR soon, and need a suggestion.
So to start off, I have maybe used one twice in my life. So obviously, I'm an amateur. Also, I am not (at least not planning to) be making money with it. I would prefer something not too big (I've seen some that are really huge without the lens) as I want to use it when I travel. My budget is around $600 (the lower the better though :p). If there is any great amateur camera coming out in around 6 months, I could maybe wait it out (as I don't exactly have all the cash right now).
Any suggestions?

Cliff3

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2007
SF Bay Area
Any suggestions?

Follow some of the links in the thread stickied at the top of the forum (Links for camera and lens shoppers) and read and learn. DPReview.com is a good general review site, has tools to let you enter product criteria and determine which cameras fit your criteria, and is linked to in that thread. Once you figure out which cameras are in your price range, download the manuals from the manufacturer's site and give them enough of a review to have a basic understanding of how each camera works. Go into a store and use them a bit to see which one seems the most natural to you. Buy the one you like the best.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hey fellow Mac photographers ^_^
I am in need of some help. I am planning on getting a DSLR soon, and need a suggestion.