Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rema

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 16, 2006
Hi guys trying to set up a small photo studio to do basic portrait shots on a white/ black background, pretty new to this as I’m a design student, just wanted to ask what are the basics I’ll need apart from a camera and what set up do you guys have pic’s would be great

What sort of lights and background would you recommend?

Any help or advice would be great
I live in the uk by the way

Thanks Rema.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Alien Bee AB-400's should be fine, you may want AB-800's if you also intend to use them outside the studio. If your camera doesn't have a PC-Synch cord terminal, then you'll want a hotshoe one, they're cheap. Background-wise, a background stand kit and a black and white muslin will work- muslin size depends on your space and the type of shots you want to take. Light stands can be cheap ones, as long as you're not clumsy raising and lowering the lights. 2 reflective silver umbrellas and either a white shoot-through or softobx, and a grid so you can use one of the lights as a hair light. Some black and white foam core for flags/reflectors, and a bunch of clamps. Don't forget a posing stool- that should about do it.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
What sort of lights and background would you recommend? .