Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

milohywel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
Hey folks,

I'm gonna try to cover this as quick as possible as it could be a question which is asked often.

I've just purchased the most recent Macbook Pro, which is running the latest OS and is running it smooooth. At home I also have a Mac Pro (Mid 2010 tower), which cannot update past High Sierra, and is generally just very slow. It also lacks an "AVX compatible CPU", which is apparently something which I'll need (I am a music producer).

I'm basically asking, is there a cheapish way for me to fix up my Mac Pro, to make it as efficient and up to date as my Macbook, so that i can use the two in tandem? I've attached my specs to the thread - let me know if anything else is needed.

Any help is deeply appreciated, there's no way i can afford the new Mac Pro models...

Thanks!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 14.07.19.png
    Screen Shot 2020-06-16 at 14.07.19.png
    90.5 KB · Views: 348

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
Hey folks,

I'm gonna try to cover this as quick as possible as it could be a question which is asked often.

I've just purchased the most recent Macbook Pro, which is running the latest OS and is running it smooooth. At home I also have a Mac Pro (Mid 2010 tower), which cannot update past High Sierra, and is generally just very slow. It also lacks an "AVX compatible CPU", which is apparently something which I'll need (I am a music producer).

I'm basically asking, is there a cheapish way for me to fix up my Mac Pro, to make it as efficient and up to date as my Macbook, so that i can use the two in tandem? I've attached my specs to the thread - let me know if anything else is needed.

Any help is deeply appreciated, there's no way i can afford the new Mac Pro models...

Thanks!