Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BarryJ

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 8, 2007
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
4696449332_dbae8237fd_b.jpg

I'm not an expert, I'm an enthusiast trying to do better. This is a photo I took on a recent hike through the bush. There's a big canopy of trees with dappled sun shining through from time to time. I shoot RAW.

So how do I avoid the blown highlights on the plants in the foreground?

My camera's light meter was on center weighted metering.

Should I have used spot metering and exposed for just the foreground ?

Mind you the lens I used is not a high end lens at all. I used an old 35-80 mm AF for this... because I like the light weight and the replacement cost. So it does not have all the newest coatings and the like. But could the crappy lens be the root cause here ?

In these scenarios I don't have time to hump and set up tripods because my hiking partners don't carry cameras and they are out to make distance in a short time... and this is bush, not a city park.

And even though I shoot RAW, there was not enough "information" to recover the highlights.

So any thoughts or suggestions would be most welcomed. Thanks in adavance. Barry

ComputersaysNo

macrumors 6502
Apr 15, 2010
Amsterdam
There's just not enough light. Exposing for the highlights will make everything else darker.

You've reached the limits of your sensor on this one. The difference between the brightest parts and the darkest parts is out the dynamic range of the sensor.

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
I would generally expose for the highlights, in a scene like this... and let the unlt woodland fall into deep shadow. Make a virtue of the dappled lighting... instead of thinking of it as a problem