Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MortimerJazz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 25, 2007
London
Hi there,

I'm still pretty new to digital photography, but wanting to learn ... and feeling quite inspired looking at some of the pictures posted in this section.

A quick question though: would you say that the majority of the photos you post are straight from the camera, or do you run them through Photoshop before uploading them?

If PS plays a large part in producing photos, could you suggest which filters you use the most when fine tuning your pics?

Thanks loads for your help

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
For me nothing is straight from Camera: everything is shot in RAW and goes through Aperture. Some pictures are just left as are, probably at least 50% of the keepers have minor level tweeks. Low light shots at ISO800 or above always end up going through Photoshop and Noise Ninja...

bartelby

macrumors Core
Jun 16, 2004
Most of mine go through 'Levels...' and that's about it for straight photography. Arty stuff could go through a lot.

M@lew

macrumors 68000
Nov 18, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
Around 20% through Photoshop, 100% through Lightroom. :D (P.S. "Straight from camera" doesn't make you any better than someone who uses Photoshop on all their photos. It's a tool, much like a flash) :)

rotlex

macrumors 6502a
May 1, 2003
PA
Everything I shoot gets processed to some degree as I shoot everything from family photo's, to side job stuff in RAW. Most of my processing however is done in Aperture as it's FAST to do it there. (Quick levels, saturation, contrast and minor sharpening).

I'd say 10% of it goes through PS 3 when noise reduction, or "special" touches need to be added.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005