Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Lord Blackadder

macrumors P6
Original poster
May 7, 2004
Sod off
I'm getting to my one year anniversary with my Canon Rebel XT and it has gone everywhere with me....I've taken over 8000 photos with it (most not very good I'm afraid, I'm still a newbie) and so far the honeymoon continues. But how do you guys clean, and how often?

I've noticed that it is very easy to get dust on the outside of the filter (I have filters on both of my lenses), and I always check that before I shoot, something I learned the hard way. I have gotten some rainwater or spray on the lenses, and let that evaporate rather than wiping it off. Once, I had three spots of dust on my sensor. I was able to blow that off with an air bulb. I have used a camera cleaning kit brush to remove dust a few times, but as yet I have avoided using cleaning fluid on anything.

I actually took the camera with me to the field this summer and an archaeology dig is not a clean environment for a camera. I avoided any mishaps, though the kit lens sucked since I was always focusing manually and my 50mm was not wide enough for the shots I was taking.

Finally, how many of you have had to have your camera's shutter replaced? Canon lists 50k shots as the Rebel XT's shutter MTBF. I've not read of this ever being a problem, but was curious.

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
With lenses, I clean as I see a need to. I make sure I've always got a lens pen with me - that seems to be good enough, most of the time.

With my sensor, I've only cleaned it once. The way to check, of course, is to shoot the bright blue sky at f/22 - any sensor dust will show up. The dust I had on my sensor was not bad enough to affect my real pictures (yet); but I'd think it's better to deal with it prior to that point. :p

For cleaning the sensor I bought a kit from Copperhill.