Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Aeparker

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 27, 2016
I'm am debating on installing the Mac OS Sierra public beta. All the new features look great. I held off on installing it because I didn't want to deal with bugs. This is the 7th update. How stable is it? I have a early 2015 iMac. I am a photographer, so I need my all of my Adobe software to work. Should I install or should I wait?

Revo Runner

macrumors newbie
Jul 4, 2016
just partition your drive about 15gigs and install it there, this is what I did so if you don't like it you can just delete the partition. I really like it, I have beta 6 installed today. So far pretty stable and no malfunctions "yet"

if you are concerned about stableness and such never install beta any OS. I have been using Sierra exclusively for about 3 months now.

Aeparker

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 27, 2016
I thought about doing the partition but I want to be able to use it with all of my current data. I guess I can migrate everything over. Then if I like it just get rid of the other partition.

ajay96

macrumors 6502a
Jul 29, 2013
New York, NY
You could use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone your entire hard drive onto an external device, and then upgrade. If you don't like it, you can always revert to the cloned device's contents.

flowrider

macrumors 604
Nov 23, 2012
Unless you have a second drive and are backed up on that drive, I would not do it. With that being said, I have been using Sierra as my daily driver since PB4. It's stable and working quit well for me. However, I do have multiple drives, and have current start-up SSDs containing both El Cap and Yosemite. And my data os stored on a couple of HDDs.

Lou

Last edited:

leman

macrumors Core
Oct 14, 2008
I've been using the developer preview for weeks now, haven't had a single issue so far. For my purpose at least, its as stable as it gets.