Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

What to do for Mac's security (besides downloading only known apps)?

• Install Sophos

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Install Avast

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Install Avira

• Install AVG

• Install real-time protection (name in comments)

• Don't install real-time scanners!

Votes: 4 66.7%
  • Just keep scanning with Malwarebytes every day.

Votes: 2 33.3%

• Total voters

Ankelium

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2016
Hello, beginner here, please be kind. :)

I keep hearing that Mac is safe and has no need for real-time scanner, but also that it is needed, but apps for that are... bad.

I heard Norton is very bad?
Are Avira, Avast, AVG or Sophos bad for Mac health?

Among free apps I keep seeing only Malwarebytes that is considered good.

I download apps only from App Shop or from known pages (like VLC player). I don't go to suspicious sites, but save images from boards (sometimes gif and webm) and I surf places like Tumblr for pics and cat videos (downloading mp4s sometimes from tumblr's server).

With lifestyle like this, is there an app I need? Is there any real time protection against potential ******** and trojans? Or are all those realtimers harmful towards Mac?

Would I be secure if I simply run Malwarebytes every day to see if something slipped in?

Floris

macrumors 68020
Sep 7, 2007
Netherlands
These 'tools' are worse than any virus you run the risk of getting (and won't get).
Stop ruining your system by installing this nonsense software. They're not windows, there's no need for it.

Reactions: Ulenspiegel

DeltaMac

macrumors G5
Jul 30, 2003
Delaware
Does Malwarebytes ever find anything?
Running that every day is likely unnecessary if it never detects anything new on your system.
I run Malwarebytes about once a month, and it may detect something once or twice a year, depends on what I am doing.
The others - not really needed.