Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

poredoor

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 30, 2009
Hi guyz,
I am new to apple. I just got macbook pro last month. I imported photo from my camera into iphoto. I couldn't find the actual location of those photos. I also would like to copy those photos to external HD. I did the same way like PC. I mounted external HD and copied those photo then pasted but it just did not work that way. Any idea how to? When I try to paste pictures, it won't allow.

One more thing. Some pictures taken were landscape, some portrait. When I view photo with iphoto, those portraits were rotated but not actual portraited. When I uploaded those to hi5 website, they were just not right. How can I rotate those pictures?

Please Help

Thank you GURUs

munkees

macrumors 65816
Sep 3, 2005
Pacific Northwest
under edit in iPhoto you can rotate pictures.

to copy the picture or pictures/ select the ones you want, then while holding the mouse button down grab them, and drag them to the external HD icon, hold it there for a few seconds the icon will flash, then open up to the external drives contents, you can keep doing this until you hit the folder you want, then just release the mouse button and it will copy (you should see a green + when you are drag them over).

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
It's just drag & drop from iPhoto to the Finder.
However, let me ask you: why do you want to copy it to an external harddrive? To have a backup?

If so, I would recommend you use Time Machine instead, this does all this automatically and you can even go back in time, i. e. you don't have just one backup, but several, each corresponding to a snapshot at a given time.

aross99

macrumors 68000
Dec 17, 2006
East Lansing, MI