Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 28, 2008
I started shooting in raw.. but im having trouble editing them..
How do you edit them?
Do I edit the raw (adjust sharpness, highlights, etc.) then export them as jpeg?

or do i export the raw as jpeg and edit the jpeg..

so lost.
thanks

Badger^2

macrumors 68000
Oct 29, 2009
Sacramento
in what application?

photoshop? iphoto? something else?

it doesnt sound like you should be shooting in RAW?

whats the content of your images?

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
I have several years of PhotoShop experience, but when I got my dslr I took things real easy. I shot just .jpeg to get used to the camera and then RAW+.jpeg just to see what the RAW editing panes looked like. I could goof with RAW without worrying about my images, since I was comfortable with .jpeg editing. I did this for about a month before I was OK with just RAW. Have a look at these search results and take your time.

Note: I shot film for 30 years. Digital is a new thing to me.

http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&safe=active&q=editing+raw&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

http://www.google.com/search?client...ive&q=editing+raw+tutorials&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Dale

pdxflint

macrumors 68020
Aug 25, 2006
Oregon coast
For simple editing of RAW files (most common ones) you can use iPhoto or something like Picasa. Just download the RAW files into the program, then do your usual editing the same as with .jpegs. If you export a file, then the conversion is done, usually to .jpeg at the size you choose to export to. The original file is never altered, so you always have it when you want to re-edit it, or do conversion in another program in the future.