Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

WardPhotography

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 23, 2010
I am still pretty new to using a DSLR and for some reason I cannot grasp how to read or adjust the shutter and/or aperture speeds on the display. People list the shutter speed as 1/200 but how do they get that. Same with the aperture.

Any help would be great, thank you.

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
I don't have a D40, and I've only touched one once (and I've never used a camera with only one control wheel) so I can't give specific advice, but generally speaking, you put the mode dial into 'M' (manual) 'A' (aperture priority) or 'S' (shutter priority) and then use the control dial and your thumb to change either the aperture or shutter speed, depending on the mode. There must be a button used to switch between the two in manual, perhaps the exposure compensation button, I don't know.

The number will (I guess) read out on the main screen, and on the little screen inside the viewfinder.

It will all be in the manual. Do you understand what aperture and shutter speeds do, and what 'aperture priority' etc. mean?

M-5

macrumors 65816
Jan 4, 2008
6542423.jpg
(Click to make larger)

I believe your display looks like this. I'm sure it's possible to change how the display is formatted so it might be a little different.

Red - What is circled in red (1") is the shutter speed. In the photo it would be a shutter speed of 1 second, which is a pretty slow shutter speed. Slow shutter speeds mean that more light will enter the camera, but because it's open for a longer period of time, camera shake might be captured if you don't use a tripod or something to stabilize the camera.