Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chriscorbin

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 17, 2007
Vallejo, CA
I have just officially started taking professional level pictures and I have ben approached by several families of high school seniors, They have approached me because the local photographer is incredibly expensive($100 per person sitting fee?)I have several jobs lined up, but i don't know what to put my prices at for sitting fee let alone pricing for prints. Keep in mind that i am just starting out! and i want to be reasonable, I would love to do it for free, but i have to eat and buy books and such for school.

Please help

Chris

jlcharles

macrumors 6502
Mar 30, 2006
Wenonah, NJ
Put the sitting fee somewhere you feel comfortable in between $50-100 and include a "complimentary" 8x10 and then do some sort of ala carte pricing on prints. Like in the $15-30 range for 8x10s with a quantity discount. Then you can base 5x7s, 4x6s, and wallets off of that. A set of 8 wallets is the same price as 5x7s for me. I don't actually have a price list for portraits, but they'll be higher than my sports shots because of the time it takes to edit a portrait as opposed to a sports shot.

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
This doesn't directly answer your Q, but since you said yer new offer a "new customer" discount or something instead of setting a low rate 'cause once someone expects to pay $60 (or whatever) for your services it will be hard to get them to pay more down the road. So say your price is $100 (or whatever) but you have a 40% off promotion going on right now. This kills a few birds with one stone. You get a price point that you and the customer are comfortable with (not to mention everyone loves getting things "on sale") as well as a costumer friendly justification for price increases as you get more experienced.

Lethal

seniorstinky

macrumors regular
Feb 22, 2007