Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GrandeLatte

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 2, 2016
Hi folks,

Greetings. I've ordered the iPhone 12pro in gold color and cannot wait to receive it in the mail.

Please enlighten me. I've been using my SE1 since 2016, so I'm really behind on Apple technology. For initial setup, should I go for factory default and download every app manually? Or should I just "synch" the two phones and make them look the same (is this what happens)? Before everything happens, I need to upload to iCloud, right? I haven't done it in a long time.

I want to enjoy newer technology, but am very STUCK on my regular apps. Which would take more time? Maybe I should set aside a huge chunk of time. What are some things I need to consider? How do I disconnect/ erase all data on the SE1 once the migration is done?

Thank you for your response. Cheers!

ericwn

macrumors G5
Apr 24, 2016
You already have your answer. The data transfer tool for new iOS devices described in the above post worked for me and I strongly recommend to give it a go.

Another approach is to start fresh without applying a backup and then get the apps you need piece by piece when necessary.

There is no wrong or right.

fridayxiii

macrumors 6502
Oct 14, 2011
Tampa Bay, FL
I usually find it easier to setup a new phone from a backup of the old. I set my XR and 12 Pro side by side and let the Apple magic take over. One reason to start fresh and setup as a new phone is if you'd had issues with your other phone. Sometimes legacy apps (older apps that still function but no longer updated by the vendor) can cause issues in iOS, but it's fairly rare. If you'd had any issues with iOS or the apps not working as expected, random crashes, etc. that might be a reason to install your apps one by one. Otherwise, save the time and just do a wholesale transfer.

Reactions: GrandeLatte

austyn23

macrumors 6502a
Nov 22, 2017