Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

James L

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 14, 2004
Hey all,

I am new to DSLR, and I wanted to take my D80 out for a spin on close up photography.

I have a LOT to learn, but I am pretty happy with this picture:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/76737768@N00/383332087/

To set this up I draped a white shirt over a box on my table, then placed the can down where natural window lighting would hit it. I misted the can with water, and shot it in Aperture Priority Mode (whatever settings the camera came up with). Post production was a little brightening and a little unsharp mask in PhotoShop.

I would love to see images from other people, and how you got the shot you love... camera settings, composition, etc.

I think it would be a great learning experience for a newbie like myself.

Cheers!

Clix Pix

macrumors Core
Alrighty, here ya go....

Set up was on the dining table and I used the Nikon D200, 60mm macro lens, aperture priority. Settings: f/4.5 @ 1/80 sec, ISO 640. I don't remember now for sure, but I think I handheld rather than had the camera on the tripod. I was getting ready to set up for a different shot when this idea came to me. PP was in CS2, a little adjusting of the exposure and color levels, a touch of USM (unsharp mask) and that was it.

72674025-L.jpg

Scarlet Fever

macrumors 68040
Jul 22, 2005
Bookshop!
nice shot of the coke can!

My fav shot(s) would have to be the two posted below. both of them are taken in New Zealand on an S3 IS. Prints are available on my deviantART site if your interested :)

The first one was among my first macro shots. I remember i had to get the cam in a weird angle to get the lens in the petals and also to allow enough light to get in. But the shot came out great i reckon!