Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Original poster
Jan 30, 2006
So, after more than a year in photography I think I am capable enough to take good photos, but I'm still learning. I know I can get excellent recommendations here, so this is my situation.

Next week I'll have to take some photos of a store interiors. It is a kids store (toys, bed, etc.) The expectations is to get photos that would eventually be part of commercial spots either in newspapers or magazines.

Now, I have the equipment I could need, but I would like some overall recommendation on what makes a good interiors shot. What things I must be careful about? Should I include a model? Or just emphasize in what the store sells?

Thanks for the help.:)

Apr 10, 2007
maybe a polarizing filter to prevent glare off of shiny objects?

im not sure just throwing something out there.

Original poster
Jan 30, 2006
Actually, I think this is great advice. Haven't thought about it, but this should help if there is a window which is showing some reflections, doesn't it?

The store has some nice decoration at the windows, so this can be helpful.

pit29

macrumors 6502a
May 23, 2006
The Golden State
probably a warming filter, as the store light can be harsh sometimes?

also, think of time, especially if you want to have people on the pictures. kids = in the afternoon, maybe? speaking of this, i am also not sure whether or not you may need any permission of ppl photographed. or are you using models?

Original poster
Jan 30, 2006
How much better is a warming filter compared to just editing later in Aperture? I do have one, so I'll definitely take it.