Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dfanoe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 24, 2018
I really need help... I am NEW to this scripting, using terminal and whatnot, so please be patient :).

I have a list of filenames (currently with no file extension) in an Excel file and I need to copy those specific files from one folder to another.

I tried using this script in Terminal:
#!/bin/bash

target="Marcom_NAS/maco/BILLEDER/pic"
destination="Dina/Users/dfanoe/Desktop/Found"

fnames=$(cat /Users/dfanoe/Desktop/STEPpics/Final.xlsx)

for i in $fnames; do
cp ${target}/${i} ${destination}/
echo "copying $i"
done
echo "done"

I found it here on the forum but I cant get it to work.

Should the file names in the Excel file all have extension, ie .jpg?

The target folders name is "pic" and the destination folders name is "Found" but when I copy it into Terminal it says that the folder Found couldnt be found? The excel file name is "Final.xlsx"

Is there any way you guys can help me? Again - please be very specific since this is practically foreign language to me...

kryten2

macrumors 65816
Mar 17, 2012
Belgium
Hi,

Where did you find the script? Who's dina? I doubt the cat command can do anything with an Excel xlsx file. I downloaded a sample.xlsx file to test with LibreOffice Calc and cat in Terminal.

Attachments

• Schermafdruk van 2018-01-24 19-27-47.png
    Schermafdruk van 2018-01-24 19-27-47.png
    295.2 KB · Views: 197
  • Schermafdruk van 2018-01-24 19-28-20.png
    Schermafdruk van 2018-01-24 19-28-20.png
    123.3 KB · Views: 159

PhoneyDeveloper

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2008
This is a general shell script question. There's nothing really specific to Macintosh. You could run this script on Linux, for instance.