Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Scarlet Fever

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jul 22, 2005
Bookshop!
I currently have a 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Tamron lens and a 50mm f/1.8 Canon lens mated to a 40D, and I'm finding the lack of range a problem. I've had a look on the canon website, and found these four lenses;

1. The 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM at $1099 AU RRP
2. The 70-200mm f/4L USM at $1349 AU RRP
3. The 70-200mm f/4L IS USM at $1619 AU RRP
4. The 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM at $1674 AU RRP.

I am a student who doesn't earn a whole lot of money, but at the same time, I don't want to be buying a lens and wishing I spent the extra few hundred to get something better a few years down the track. I am willing to pay the extra ~$300 for #2 instead of #1, and I would pay more if #3 or #4 are really worth it. So my questions to the readers are;

-Is is worth spending the extra money to get #2 instead of the #1 despite missing out on the IS?
-If so, is the IS worth the extra money again for #3?
-Would I be missing out on too much range if I got a 200mm instead of a 300mm lens?
-Are there any comparable lenses from 3rd party manufacturers I should be looking at?

Also, if anyone has any first-hand experience with any of these lenses, I'd love to hear some opinions.

Cheers

Lovesong

macrumors 65816