Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kmaultsby

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 3, 2006
I am really getting into digital photos and so far I am using Apples I-Photo but I also have a copy of Adobe Photoshop Elements 2.0 that came with my scanner, which I notice I have more touch up options than I do with I-Photo but my camera downloads to I-photos. I am new to this so if the experts can help I would greatly appreciate it. One problem I am having my pictures do not print correctly from Photo Shop My 4x6 prints would print the opposite way. What am I doing wrong. Or is Photo shop just a photo editor and I print my prints from I-Photo? And what is the deference between Adobe Photoshop & Apples Aperture?

Aperture

macrumors 68000
Mar 19, 2006
PA
Photoshop is just an editor, which by the way is much more powerful than iPhoto.

Photoshop is strictly an editor, as Apple's Aperture is mainly for organizing and light editing. If you were looking into getting Aperture, I would stay with iPhoto since you are asking these questions. Aperture is for the professional and can indeed be *very* confusing and overwhelming to the average user.

Hope this helps.

Kevin

Clix Pix

macrumors Core
PS Elements is a "light" version of Photoshop and is usually referred to as "Elements" or "PSE" in order to differentiate it from Photoshop. Since there is now v.4 available, I suspect that many more things could be done with that than with v.2. PS and PS Elements are photo-editing programs primarily, whereas Aperture and iPhoto also include other functions. Aperture is geared towards professionals or serious amateurs who have many images with which to work, including light editing and cataloging.