Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CharlesDaniel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2017
Hey guys,

First time forum poster here just looking for some expert advice.

I'm a long time apple user, imac 27, ipads, iphone's e.t.c however I'm looking to purchase a new macbook.
I'm a web designer, coder, graphic designer (photoshop) , writer, product designer and run multiple businesses in this niche. I have spent a great deal of time looking over the various options and really cannot reach a decision.

The laptop will be used to run the business while traveling, I want a 13.3" macbook, and the products I design are high end so the build quality needs to be spot on.

I have roughly £1000 / $1230 to spend which leaves me with approximately 3 options.
I should note that I will be likely buying from Ebay given the huge discount (approximately £200 saving).

Option 1) I purchase a mid 2012 macbook pro, non retina, 2.5GHz, 13.3", i5, 4gb RAM, 500 GB HDD, 7 hour battery running Lion. Completely up gradable machine, I purchase and fit a 250/500 GB SSD hard drive as well as 16GB of RAM.

Pro's = Super powerful machine, very fast, completely upgradable, cheap to fix, and a machine that is regarded as one one the best macbooks of all time. However,

Cons = are that the screen is non retina, comparably short battery life, 5 year old machine, older graphics card, older processor, thicker, heavier

Cost including upgrade = Approximately £1,000

___

Option 2) I buy the 2015 Macbook Pro, 2.7GHz, 13.3", I5 processor, 8GB RAM, 128GB, Retina, 10 hours battery life, OSX, Yosemite.

Pro's = New machine, flash storage build in, 10 hour battery life, lighter, thinner, retina screen. Faster processor, Could always buy an external hard drive if 128GB is not sufficient. However,