Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wry

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 25, 2020
I'm a computer engineering student and Apple Silicon is the very thing that inspired me to change my major from computer science to engineering. I heard about how Johny Srouji is in charge of the development of Apple Silicon and how he got really good grades all throughout primary, secondary, and post-secondary school and is the brainiac behind the hugely successful Apple Silicon.

Unfortunately I don't have the best grades in college either by virtue of my executive dysfunction or my uni being super difficult and so I probably might be no better than the IBM engineers who failed to deliver on their promises of faster and more power efficient G5 processors that caused Apple to switch to Intel and the Xbox 360 and PS3 to overheat.

But yeah, I have an interest for all things RISC architecture and whatnot. Just getting through the basic foundations of everything before the fun stuff is quite laborious.

altaic

macrumors 6502a
Jan 26, 2004
Don’t worry about your grades. Be passionate and work ethic will follow. School can help interest and impassion you, but mostly it develops habits and work ethic (&friends/networking). ECE is super fun if you let yourself be immersed.

Along those lines, check out some of the RISC-V talks and look at the Belt Architecture for some inspiration. There are also some recent interesting research into machine learning applied to EDA and VLSI— from a CS background, you may find an interest there. Either way, follow free online lectures from top universities— challenge yourself and make time to do so.

Also, read some of Simon Peyton Jones’s papers (and watch some lectures)— somewhat unrelated to ECE, but he knows how to explain a thing, and as Feynman said (paraphrasing), you don’t truly know something until you are able to explain/teach it to someone.