Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anna-Lou

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 7, 2008
Hello.

Im a 16 Year old student and im VERY interested in photography.
Im thinking of buying a Nikon D40 for my first camera what do you think? As im only 16 and I am at college at the moment I am short on money, I was thinking of buying a bundle of Ebay but many people have told me its all junk. I was wondering if any of you know a good place where i can get a bundle (Camera and lens, Tri pod, Memory card, Bag ect) I found one on ebay for £375 Which is quite expensive if its all junk.

Also im confussed on lighting that i need and reflectors, i know its different for different kinds of thing, For instance if i take pictures of people i am going to need a white background ect and all og the equpitment for inside. Can anyone tell me what i need or advise me on whats best for a lowish sort of price?

I have broght many books and DVDs showing me tutorials which is very helpful now all i need is to know about the equpitment.
I am hopefully going to KCC next year to study photography.

Thanks for listening.

Anna-Lou

pcypert

macrumors 6502
Jul 19, 2006
Bangkok
Why the bold? :)

Lay off the bundles. Get the camera and a 50 prime lens. Start shooting and see what YOU like to shoot. Then you'll start adding accessories based on what you need. Case in point, I do almost all event and people work. Rarely use a tripod. Money saved up front was money I put into other equipment.

Paul

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Hello.