Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

areskins

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 3, 2016
2 years ago I bought the 2nd gen 12.9 inch ipad pro. I love that tablet so much! Back then when I was still in med school I decided to go with just an ipad with no laptop. It was doable and I can do all my paperworks which just consists of mostly MS Word files and PDF files. Now that I’m a resident doctor in a hospital, the ipad Word app/experience isn’t just fast enough. There are a lot of times where I felt that I was not 100% in control of the file which kinda sucks.

Right now I have an uber slow and macbook air and not enough funds to get a new laptop without selling my ipad. I love my ipad more than my iphone xs max but sadly I think I need to let it go. Seriously right now this is killing me.

Had anyone had this similar dilemma before?

canesalato

Cancelled
Jan 31, 2010
2 years ago I bought the 2nd gen 12.9 inch ipad pro. I love that tablet so much! Back then when I was still in med school I decided to go with just an ipad with no laptop. It was doable and I can do all my paperworks which just consists of mostly MS Word files and PDF files. Now that I’m a resident doctor in a hospital, the ipad Word app/experience isn’t just fast enough. There are a lot of times where I felt that I was not 100% in control of the file which kinda sucks.

Right now I have an uber slow and macbook air and not enough funds to get a new laptop without selling my ipad. I love my ipad more than my iphone xs max but sadly I think I need to let it go. Seriously right now this is killing me.

i would always choose a MacBook to get work done, unless it has to do with very specific needs. However, under iPad OS, things will get significantly better. Can you be more specific about where the iPad is limiting your productivity? Your first post doesn't provide enough detail to help you...

AutomaticApple

Suspended