Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dudlg0

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 22, 2009
Im about to go to the the way of the Mac. However, I have read a few things on line that the imac 20" (with 256mb graphics card) isn't any good for photography.

Im a amateur photographer and all i want is a display that actively represent the photos that will be printed out.

1) Should I go with the imac or find a PC???

2) Does any one have any simple advise on how to get the most out of the display and machine for photography,

PCMacUser

macrumors 68000
Jan 13, 2005
Im about to go to the the way of the Mac. However, I have read a few things on line that the imac 20" (with 256mb graphics card) isn't any good for photography.

Im a amateur photographer and all i want is a display that actively represent the photos that will be printed out.

2) Does any one have any simple advise on how to get the most out of the display and machine for photography,

The iMac is fine for photography. I can't see how its particular graphics card would make any difference to photographic work. Graphics cards mostly affect performance in video games and hardware dependant software. Perhaps it's the quality of the screen itself that lets it down. Anyone?

nidserz

macrumors 6502a
Mar 28, 2008
Dubai x Toronto
hey,
I'm not sure if its good or now but I have the same iMac you are using and I use it for photography.
I tried two prints so far and they both came out a lot darker than what showed up on the screen so I am not sure if it was because of the iMac or the settings.
Hopefully someone more knowledgable could help out because I would like to know how to get prints to looks somewhat like what I see on my iMac (colors, etc).

CarlsonCustoms

macrumors 6502
Mar 5, 2007
If I remember right the 20" uses a lower quality panel.