Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LeRoi3

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 31, 2018
Hi guys,

Especially for this 'problem', I have created an account with MacRumors. Hopefully, you can give me advice on this, because I have been in doubt for months and now want to finally make a decision!

I'm a graphic designer who works mainly with Adobe Photoshop / InDesign / Illustrator and Cinema 4D. At the moment I own an iMac 21'5 2012 and a MacBook Pro 2015. But I mostly work on my iMac, the MacBook Pro is just for when I'm on the go ;)

I would like to get more involved in Cinema 4D and especially in the Octane render engine that bases its speed on the strength of a GPU. The machines I have atm are too slow for the heavy render assignments, so it's time to get a real monster.

So I doubt between a 27" iMac (2017) and a Mac Pro (2012). The iMac performs better in Photoshop, but I think the Mac Pro is performing better in Cinema 4D by its 12 cores. Both own the 1080 Ti GPU so that would be the same for Octane in terms of performance?

(The iMac Pro is not an option anymore, because Octane does not support AMD cards, and the prices of a 10 core iMac Pro are ridiculous.)

Below you can find my system specs at the moment and the ones that I might want to purchase:

Mac’s I own at the moment:

21.5-inch iMac (Late 2012)
- 3,1 GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
- 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
- Fusion Drive 1TB
- Nvidia Geforce GT 650M 512 MB

15-Inch MacBook Pro (Mid 2015)

- 2,5 GHz Intel Core i7
- 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
- SSD 500 GB
- AMD Radeon R9 M370X

Buying options:

27-inch iMac 5K (2017) + EGPU
- 4,2‑GHz quad‑core Intel Core i7
- 40 GB 2400‑MHz DDR4
- SSD 1 TB
- Radeon Pro 580 8 GB

EGPU + Graphic Card

- Akitio Node
- Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB
- Thunderbolt 3 cable

Total price: +/- €4340,25 ex VAT

or

Mac Pro 5.1 (2012 / Custom Made)

- 3,46 GHz 12 Core X5690
- 96 GB 1333MHz DDR3 RAM