Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Makboy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 2, 2017
Hi, I got an iMac 27" Late 2009, I've been using it every day for almost 10 years 24/7 turned on.
Last month suddenly when I reseted to log in Windows I got a black screen, I hear the usual chime but then a black screen after that (in other words, the computer remains "turned off" and not showing the usual white screen with logo), I thought it was the death of the iMac but after a few resets I could get the white screen to load the system normally, but it is getting more and more complicated on each reset -i.e. a month ago were only 4 or 5 resets, this morning were about 30!-, I've called to Apple store and they told me there could be a problem with either the display or the backlight, beside that they won't repair this old iMac.
Could be a backlight issue? I don't have any kind of black "clouds" when I use the computer normally, the screen looks fine as new, the problem is each time I reset the computer I got a full black screen, the system loads fine, it is just a display issue.
They advised me to plug the computer in an external display but haven't tried yet. (I don't have the HDMI cable).

The question is if I don't see any "black clouds" and the problem appears on each reset, could still be a backlight problem? so changing the LED backlight could work?
Like on this post?
www.ifixit.com/Guide/iMac+Intel+27-Inch+EMC+2390+LED+Driver+Board+Replacement/9264

oVerboost

macrumors 68000
Sep 17, 2013
United Kingdom
What info did Apple have to guess it was the backlight?!

I would try plugging in an external monitor and using that to see if the problem persists (external monitor as a main monitor).

Makboy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 2, 2017
What info did Apple have to guess it was the backlight?!