Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MarkMacLogic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 29, 2017
Hi there, I am a musician playing guitar and writing songs etc. I have saved some money to get a Mac and will be installing logic. My plan is to be recording and producing my music.

Can anybody recommend the best imac (ideally) or mac for me to purchase that would suit my needs.

Thank you for any help given! This is a very big decision for me as I have been making music for years and this is now my time to record the music so I can share it with the world!

Thank you, I look forward to your help where possible

Cancelled
Mar 19, 2009
Your budget will limit you to the lower-end iMac range. As you are going to be using your iMac for music production, you would benefit from a Fusion Drive or SSD storage as the 2.3 GHz and 3.0 GHz 21.5-inch iMacs use 5400-rpm hard drives. That might be fine for general use, but certainly not the ideal drive speeds for music production.

If you don't want to save up in order to buy a 27-inch iMac, you should either purchase the 3.0GHz 4K iMac but with a 1 TB Fusion Drive which brings the total to £1,339, or the high-end 3.4 GHz 4K iMac which comes with a 1 TB Fusion Drive for £1,449 - this model is almost on par with the low-end 27-inch iMac in terms of processor and graphics performance.

You will get the best performance if you purchase an iMac with SSD storage, but for music production I imagine 256 GB won't be enough - so you might need to customise your iMac to include a minimum 512 GB SSD which costs £270 as a customisation upgrade, so you might find the best value-to-performance ratio in a Fusion Drive if an SSD is too expensive for you. If you were to customise your order to replace the stock configuration with a 512 GB SSD in the 3.0 GHz 4K iMac, that would bring the total to £1,609. On the 3.4 GHz 4K iMac, that brings the total to £1,719.