Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

biomes

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 30, 2017
Nashville, TN
I've been wanting to switch to a Mac for video editing for a really long time and now I finally have the ability to do so! I feel like any iMac I buy is going to be an upgrade from what I've been using, but I want something that I can upgrade even more later on down the road. I'm a multimedia artist mainly working in the realm of video art. I'm shooting on a T5i and working with Premiere Pro, but I will also be working with After Effects (looking to get the whole suite actually). My current projects don't exceed 30 minutes in length (most of the time, they are under 10 minutes).

In case you were curious, this is what I have been working with:
Sony VAIO laptop running Windows 7, Intel core i3-2370m CPU @ 2.40GHz, RAM 4GB

I've had that laptop for 6 years now and it's been a bit of a struggle running Premiere on it, but hey, I'm patient! I just don't know how much more it can take and I'm working way more in video than I have since college (where they had like 10 Macs per student!), so it's time to let this old friend rest a while.

Any advice would be fantastic! I can give you more info if you need it ;)

poematik13

macrumors 65816
Jun 5, 2014
I'm assuming you want the 27". The 21" isn't ideal, as it has non-upgradeable parts and similar specs to a 15" MBP.

You definitely want to max out your CPU and GPU as these can't be upgraded later and modern codecs and resolutions love to use as much resources as they can. Especially Premiere, which is a notorious CPU hog.

So 4.2ghz i7 and 580 GPU for sure. You can drop to 575 GPU if you don't have the budget. VRAM is critical for when you start working with UHD/4K resolution, so the 580 future proofs you.
Get the 8GB stock ram and upgrade it yourself from amazon (crucial is cheap)