Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cleung

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 11, 2006
Hong Kong
I think I might have just made a big error. Last week, I upgraded from iphoto 06 to iphoto 09. I've thought on and off about moving to Lightroom or Aperture but have decided to move to Lightroom instead. I should have made that decision last week so I wouldn't have bought iLife 09 but that is a moot point now. In iPhoto 06, I had easy access to the photos from the Finder. I didn't have to go into iPhoto library to attach a picture to an e-mail. I could have accessed the file of the photo from folder (named after Roll #). Now I have totally lost access to this.

As such, I'm not quite sure how to import all my 5000 photos from iPhoto to Lightroom now. Any advice?

S-Man

macrumors regular
Feb 1, 2009
Houston
I'm new to macs, so I may not be of much help. But let me try to be clear on this.
Are you saying that using iPhoto '09 completely overtakes your system and doesn't let you access your picture folders through Finder?
If so, that totally sucks!
I would think that in LR, you just find the source folder of the photos and import them from there...

On another note, I imported all of my photos into iPhoto '08 last week, and it took like 6 hours. Is that normal?

cleung

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 11, 2006
Hong Kong
Yes, it does seem like I can't access individual photo from finder. Or maybe I just don't know what I'm looking. I used to go to "Picutres" folder and the photos would be in different folders (folders were labeled as "Roll 123").

I'm in the process of testing out both Lightroom and Aperture and only want to import a few photos to test out each of the software during the 30-day trial. I don't want to import my whole iPhoto library to Lightroom...how do I just import selected photos?