Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VietlOtUs

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 5, 2008
Hello,

I am interesting in picking up photography as a hobby. Will be getting a Canon Xsi soon. I am just a novice. I have been using PC all my life. Would like to switch to Mac to see how it is.

Before I make a commitment, I would like to do some research and that's why I am here. For those Mac owners, what would you recommend? I will be using the laptop for words (homework), surfing the net, watch movies, go online (AIM), and picture editing (photography).

I am deciding between a MacBook 13.3 2.4 mhz and a MacBook Pro 2.4 mhz 15".

I would like to wait for the update but if it comes too late, I'll make a decision before the Mac + ipod + printer offer is over.

Thanks.

wmw71190

macrumors member
Aug 13, 2008
If money is an issue (at all), and you aren't ever planning on playing games on your mac, definitely the Macbook itself is fine for graphics/photography. I design every day with Photoshop CS3, and I haven't had any speed problems, graphics problems, or any other problems at all with my Macbook. I went with the middle version (not the lowest Macbook, and not the Black one). If you want the big screen, or the better gfx card for games, go with the Pro. If not, the normal Macbook is a lot smaller and a lot cuter :D:p

VietlOtUs

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 5, 2008
The middle MacBook is the 2.4mhz with 15" right?

The rumors about the refresh makes me want to wait. :rolleyes:;)

I won't be playing games on it if at all. My bf says I'll need a new computer (better screen/color etc) for photography last month, he really jiinx me. I was using a Sony (4 years old) laptop.

I am so excited. :eek:

osin

macrumors 6502
Jun 8, 2008
New Jersey
Macbook's update is expected after iPod promotion is over, so you shouldn't delay your excitment and buy the laptop now...

compuwar

macrumors 601