Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Pigmyracer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2010
Like my father before me, I am a closeted photographer. I enjoy taking pictures although I've never quite had time to take full advantage. I'm currently shooting a Nikon D80 although I've considered a D300s or D700 (an overly expensive proposition at the moment). Basically, I'm looking for an intermediate level lens kit for my Nikon that won't break the bank (assume for argument's sake that I don't have any lenses at the moment). In terms of use, I like to do a lot of action photography at a variety of ranges. I enjoy wildlife photography and would like to get more involved but my big demand is probably sports. I take pictures at all of the local cycling races, which means fast moving subjects. My last real "vice" is architectural photography (aside from your basic candid shots every now and then). I don't know helpful a description this is so feedback and suggestions are welcome.

As an aside, I was also wondering what people thought of non-Nikon lenses for Nikon bodies. My father always bought Nikkor lenses, no matter what, on the assumption that everything else was crap. Does that belief actually hold? Are Sigma lenses of good quality? Again, help of any kind would be greatly appreciated.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA