Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crazyjorgito

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 27, 2012
Hello guys,

I need your help to see if I can do the following: I want to connect my iPad Pro to my MacBook Pro via USB-C to send audio from the iPad to the Mac. Is there any way of doing this? In theory USB-C is capable on sending audio, but I don't seem to find the way to send it to the Mac by connecting them together.
When I connect them, the iPad keeps sounding and the Mac only seems to be charging the iPad...

Im a music student and basically I have to use the console app (Universal Audio) so that I can play/record guitars and use headphones. There are a few apps that I use daily to practice (iReal, Harmonomics, Metronomics) and making this work would save me good money, so that I don't have to buy apps twice.

Thanks!!

PS: not sure if this belong to the iPad forum of the macbook forum...

Howard2k

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2016
The bad thing is that this software is 99$. I still think that there must be a way of of doing this with the only use of connecting both via USB-C and tweaking/activating some stuff.

I'm certain you can do it if you find a schematic of the USB-C Lightning cable. I suspect it's an analog out and it's just a matter of finding the right pins. I could be wrong though. Is it worth all that hassle to save $99? I'm skeptical on that part. :D

I didn't buy the software either. I'm in Canada so that's like $10,000 of our dollars so instead I went with a regular USB audio interface. My requirements were different from yours but US$99 for the software of a similar price for an audio interface, the audio interface won out for me.

crazyjorgito

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 27, 2012