Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Vlad36

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 14, 2021
Hi everyone,

A newbie here :)

1. I am neither an Apple sheep nor an android troll.
2. I have worked with video and photography professionally before, although more so from the position of a director than a colorist/editor.
That being said, I am quite sensitive when it comes to display color accuracy and am really good at spotting the differences between top-quality, well-calibrated displays and average to crap screens.

Ok then, here’s the thing (a fact) that I have come to realize having thoroughly tested and compared dozens of iPhone X, 11 pro, 12 and 13 units (all models): my own ones, my friends’ ones, the official Apple stores’ ones and those found at authorized resellers. None of these were second-hand, refurbished or in any way modified iPhones.

Fact: all the iPhones following the excellent X series have had worse screens than their predecessors. The truth being that with XS and 11 pros you could still get a decent panel on your iPhone (almost as good as the X’s had); however, starting with iPhone 12 the display quality, color accuracy and crushed blacks have gone from bad to truly terrible. Display uniformity has been a relatively stable issue throughout the lines and just within what one would expect from an OLED.

Let me elaborate though.